All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: A question about handicaps
Post #1 Posted: Thu May 03, 2012 10:57 am 
Beginner

Liked others: 0
Was liked: 0
KGS: Fulan
IGS: Fulan
Absolute beginner at Go here. I come from a competitive culture that severely looks down upon any rule of mechanic that aids the weaker player and attempts to level the playing field. The stronger player managed to get to his level with the same tools at his disposal as anyone else so why is the weaker player deserving of a helping hand.

But I see in Go there is a well thought out handicap system. What's the rationale behind it?

Btw, this is not a jab at Go or the ruleset. It's just something that clashes with the culture that I'm used to when competing. Though it's currently the subject of a lot of heated debates between veteran and newer players.

Post subject: Re: A question about handicaps
Post #2 Posted: Thu May 03, 2012 11:07 am 
Tengen

Liked others: 499
Was liked: 733
GD Posts: 65
OGS: Hyperpape 4k
The handicap system allows a wider range of players to play interesting games against each other. It also allows a more balanced exposure to the game. Take the endgame: without a handicap, I should resign my games against a stronger player quite early. With a handicap, I can have the experience of playing the endgame, and have a chance that it will matter, so we'll both take it seriously.

Post #3 Posted: Thu May 03, 2012 11:58 am 
Lives with ko

Liked others: 76
Was liked: 29
GD Posts: 1005
Universal go server handle: sverre
Fulan wrote:
Absolute beginner at Go here. I come from a competitive culture that severely looks down upon any rule of mechanic that aids the weaker player and attempts to level the playing field. The stronger player managed to get to his level with the same tools at his disposal as anyone else so why is the weaker player deserving of a helping hand.

But I see in Go there is a well thought out handicap system. What's the rationale behind it?