It is currently Mon Apr 15, 2024 9:36 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: The 3 books you'd recommend
Post #1 Posted: Tue Jul 21, 2015 10:27 am 
Beginner

Liked others: 5
Was liked: 4
I've been doing a lot of googling lately about Go books, but what helped me the most was asking specifically for "good introductory texts" in a very active Go facebook group. The problem is that there are many well-reasoned views on why you should get almost every book that gets brought up, and I had originally intended to get 2-3 books max.

So, imagine this:

[list=][*]You're a high ddk who started playing a little over a month ago, you already know ANY book would be too advanced for you right now, but you're thinking ahead.

[*]Once you're past 20k you'd like a formal introduction to the game and its fundamentals, hence you're pretty much set on getting Iwamoto's (Honinbo Kunwa's) "Go For Beginners", as you're no longer an absolute newbie and you don't feel like spending all that dough on Janice Kim's 5 books.

[*]A long time from that, right around the time you break into sdk, you're pretty much set on getting Kageyama's "Lessons in the Fundamentals of Go" because it's a book that'll be relevant your entire "career" and you'd finally be able to understand some of it.

[*]You have no shortage of Tsumego from here onto 5D because you've downloaded and already started printing wbaduk's problems, Chikun Cho's encyclopedia of life and death, the gokyo shumyo, the gengen gokyo and even the hatsuyoron.

[*]Your concern, is that you feel you're missing crucial study on fuseki, joseki, and the endgame, so you've given some thought to getting Bozulich's "Winning Go" and reading it some time between the other two books, but you're just not sure.[/list]

What would you do? what book(s) would you change, add or subtract? would you stick to that overall order or would you shake things up?

Post subject: Re: The 3 books you'd recommend
Post #2 Posted: Tue Jul 21, 2015 10:51 am