It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 12:59 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: My experiences from the 2015 U.S. Go Congress
Post #1 Posted: Mon Aug 17, 2015 9:47 am 
Lives in gote

Liked others: 186
Was liked: 191
I am not sure I'll write about every day, partly because the level of interest is not that great and honestly by now it's somewhat of a blur.

Day 1:

I started playing go in about 2004 and that was also the year I attended my first U.S. Go Congress in Rochester, NY. I have only missed one since then, which was last year’s in New York City.

This year’s USGC was at the University of St. Thomas, specifically the campus in St. Paul, Minnesota. It was quite easy to get there from the Minneapolis / St. Paul airport, being only about 15 minute taxi drive.

My first impression was that it was very clean. I knew it was a Catholic liberal arts school before I arrived and it definitely looks the part. Even the student center where the main playing room was looks like a church.

Attachment:
student_center.jpg
student_center.jpg [ 204.15 KiB | Viewed 19645 times ]

The registration process was pretty easy, although I had a weird problem with my room. I had requested a single room in a suite in an air-conditioned building, but when I got to my room it was the wrong kind of room and people’s stuff was in every room in the suite. So I went back to the congress registration desk and they assigned me another room on a different floor of the same dorm (Morrison). After that it was fine.

The suites are quite nice; they have two individual complete baths (rather than the shared shower room situation one often sees) and there was a laundry room with 1 washer and 2 dryers right across from the suite, so I could do my laundry in the middle of the week. The air conditioning was good and much appreciated as there were some hot days. This particular dorm was only a few minutes’ walk to the student center.