It is currently Wed Apr 24, 2024 8:34 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: A Beginner's Game
Post #1 Posted: Mon Jan 02, 2017 9:49 am 
Lives in gote

Liked others: 62
Was liked: 116
I'm quite new at go and I'm still learning the basics. With enough practise and patience that'll work itself out. The only thing I miss at the moment is knowing what I'm doing wrong (I play against the computer for the moment).
I'd like to play people but since I haven't really gotten a grasp of the game yet, I don't want to waste anyone's time ;-)

I played this 9 x 9 game against Cosumi. He obviously beat me, but I feel I did okay. However the program tells me that I made a mistake at move 9. Could someone explain why? I thought that move forced him to the side while I got influence over the middle, where I already had a stone.

Any other tips obviously very much appreciated as well!

Game link: http://www.cosumi.net/en/replay/?b=You&w=COSUMI&k=0&r=w28&bs=9&l=0&gr=eecfcdgcgfdgfhbdcebedfdhcgbfchdigdfbbcccaccbcabbddhdegbgffighgieghhhhfiffchcebecfefdeddcfcgbfdhigiiheiciehbhhetttt&ds=caebacbc&bm=ebe

Last edited by Ian Butler on Tue Jan 03, 2017 5:24 am, edited 1 time in total.

Post subject: Re: 9 x 9 beginner
Post #2 Posted: Mon Jan 02, 2017 2:49 pm 
Lives in gote

Liked others: 18
Was liked: 81
KGS: FanXiping
OGS: slashpine

:b9: was supposed to cut off :w8:. Hané at the spot marked "good move", :w10: is nobi (extension) to save :w8:, then Black connects at the 3-5 point in preparation for killing one or the other White group. In the actual game, your move made White's lower side group stronger. If after :b9: at 2-5 White does not nobi, Black captures :w8: with a play at 1-5 after playing at the 2-7 point.