Post #1 Posted: Sat Jun 07, 2014 2:36 am 
Dies with sente

Liked others: 42
Was liked: 19
KGS: virre
DGS: virre
OGS: virre
... as I acctually replied to a thread.

I am a so far 32-year old dude from Stockholm, Sweden. In my professional life I work as a junior webbdeveloper for a corporation in the media industry. Outside of that I been a gamer for a long time, more or less from birth. I am active on boardgamegeek (it was from there I was linked here. Oh and my username there and here is the same. It is also one of the names in my passport).

There always been people around me that enjoyed Go, but I never really got into it. I never really thought I liked abstract games, I played some from time to time (one tme with an ex we played a hundred games of chess I lost, then I won two and she stopped playing with me. But that was because rural Sweden have no gamers). On the last wednesday in June a friend showed me Go and I decided to give it a chance. I felt a bit split about it as the total loss (awaited, though my friend two is a relative beginner) came. But during the night and morning after I could not stop thinking about the game. So then reading up, Senseis Libary, SmartGo Kifu, Gobans and books was ordered. I was hooked, and after that I played or read or studied go each day. Still very much a bad newbie.

I have some other intrests too except gaming and the computer stuff that my work entail. Photography, Litterature, Music (I do own a guitar and a mandolin, I am not good at playing either) and supporting Hammarby in all sports, mostly by beeing in the stands and singing for the team, there is some others too but it goes in periods.

Also I am an active member in the local level of the Swedish branch of the IOGT temperance movment. (So I am sober) and also studied buddha dharma and, again in periods, take part in the local sangha in the style of Thich Nhat Hanh

This post by virre was liked by 2 people: Bonobo, Shawn Ligocki

Post subject: