All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Burnout
Post #1 Posted: Sat Aug 20, 2011 6:32 am 
Honinbo

Liked others: 1600
Was liked: 1711
KGS: Kirby
Tygem: 커비라고해
So I don't know if anybody's noticed, but I've been on the forum slightly less in the past few days. I still probably checked the forum everyday, but I still think the frequency was slightly less... :-)

Anyway, I wanted to see what people thought about a situation I'm having at my job. About 9 months ago, I changed jobs for some personal reasons - I'm a software engineer, by the way. When I started out, for the first couple of months, I think that I was running at 100% effort. I think I surprised some people, and did a very good job at work.

After awhile, the feeling of having a new job wore off a little bit, and I feel like I got a little bit "burnt out". I started getting a little pessimistic about my job, and I think the quality of what I produced at work went down a little bit.

Well, it's been a few more months now, and I want to get back into working in "100% mode". What concerns me is getting burnt out again. Also, during the time I would say that I was "burnt out", I produced some software that I'm not proud of. I mean, it works, but I think I could have done a much better job. I don't like doing that kind of work.

My wife suggested trying to work in "80% mode" so that I would be less likely to get burnt out. But it's hard for me to think this way. I feel like I have an on/off switch. When the switch is on, I run full sprint ahead at trying to get something done. But when the switch is off, I don't perform nearly as well. It's hard for me to keep the switch on all the time, though.

Has anybody had experience with this type of behavior? How can I operate at 100% 100% of the time?

I guess this type of thought could also relate to go, but I put it in the off topic section, because my concern stems from my experiences at work.

Post subject: Re: Burnout