It is currently Fri Apr 19, 2024 5:56 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: The barrier between DDK and SDK.
Post #1 Posted: Mon Jul 20, 2015 9:57 pm 
Lives in gote

Liked others: 13
Was liked: 24
OGS: Saint Ravitt
So I've been playing Go for around 18 months now and my ranks bouncing around between 10 and 13 kyu, occasionally going as low as 15 kyu when I go on long losing streaks. The thing is that I've been at this same spot for almost six months now and I'm thinking it's time to step up the studying a bit. Instead of asking about specific practicing regimens, I'm wondering if anyone passing through this phase noticed a particular area of study that needs to be worked on in order to plunge into sdk. I'm currently working through "Attack and Defense" and I have gone back through "In the Beginning" and "38 Basic Josekis" among many other beginner books.

Post subject: Re: The barrier between DDK and SDK.
Post #2 Posted: Mon Jul 20, 2015 11:12 pm 
Lives with ko

Liked others: 159
Was liked: 36
Tsumego and reviewing your games (and having them reviewed).

Highly recommend you read this advice:
http://senseis.xmp.net/?BenjaminTeuber/GuideToBecomeStrong

From easy to harder:
* Graded Go Problems for Beginners vol 2
* Graded Go Problems for Beginners vol 3
* 1001 Life and Death Problems (*highly recommended*)
* Get Strong at Tesuji

Problems don't just teach you about their particular topic, but help you exercise your reading muscle, which is vital to improving.

My regime:
* Daily problems, at least a page worth of 1001 L&D.
* Weekly, multiple games (usually 8 or so) focused games, with reviews (I'll choose 1-2 games to post on gokibitz, here, or elsewhere). I'll play on KGS, Tygem, or IGS, depending on mood.

Attack and Defense is a good book, but its theory, make sure you're doing problems daily as well.

On doing problems: