It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 9:22 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Introducing new players to go
Post #1 Posted: Tue Nov 01, 2011 8:00 am 
Beginner

Liked others: 0
Was liked: 0
GD Posts: 25
A friend and I are going to be heading to a gaming expo this Saturday to hopefully introduce some new players to go.

I'm trying to come up with different ways to grab the attention of, and introduce go to, people who have never played. Right now the plan is to just have a game going on between myself and the other go player I am doing this with in order to give guests an idea of what the game looks like and how it is played. Then we will also have a board with simple tsumego and a 9x9 for introductory games.

I'd really appreciate any other suggestions as I have never done anything like this before.

Thanks

Post subject: Re: Introducing new players to go
Post #2 Posted: Tue Nov 01, 2011 8:08 am 
Tengen

Liked others: 499
Was liked: 733
GD Posts: 65
OGS: Hyperpape 4k
Dieter's teaching experiences and recommendations are really good, in my opinion. I'd add that on the first time, you're going to go too fast whatever method you use. Just try and fight that.

The ideal circumstance is to have two beginners playing each other with you occasionally checking on them or answering questions. In all circumstances, try and avoid playing them yourselves--it will most likely overwhelm them.

Edit: added second paragraph of advice.

Last edited by hyperpape on Tue Nov 01, 2011 8:22 am, edited 2 times in total.

This post by hyperpape was liked by: LexC

Post #3 Posted: Tue Nov 01, 2011 8:13 am 
Lives in gote

Liked others: 333
Was liked: 102
Universal go server handle: p2501