It is currently Wed Feb 24, 2021 7:20 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 56 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
Offline
 Post subject: Re: Tygem for english users
Post #21 Posted: Tue Mar 15, 2011 11:39 am 
Lives with ko
User avatar

Posts: 263
Liked others: 127
Was liked: 18
Rank: Eternal 10k
GD Posts: 188
Amazing news. Thanks for the link. Signed up and works for me.

_________________
I know nothing.

Top
 Profile  
 
Offline
 Post subject: Re: Tygem for english users
Post #22 Posted: Tue Mar 15, 2011 2:35 pm 
Lives with ko

Posts: 196
Liked others: 31
Was liked: 12
Rank: tygem 5d
GD Posts: 259
how strong is it approx? I signed up as 5d, played one game and won by 8,5. is it stronger or weaker than KGS? also, is 9d the highest possible rank?

_________________
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
Offline
 Post subject: Re: Tygem for english users
Post #23 Posted: Tue Mar 15, 2011 2:50 pm 
Tengen

Posts: 4347
Location: North Carolina
Liked others: 486
Was liked: 721
Rank: AGA 3k
GD Posts: 65
OGS: Hyperpape 4k
My understanding is that becoming Tygem 9d may actually be slightly easier than on KGS (I think either Artem or Roln made 9d there), but that there's a vast pool of very strong 9dans that dwarfs KGS. No idea about the mid-dans.

_________________
Occupy Babel!

Top
 Profile  
 
Offline
 Post subject: Re: Tygem for english users
Post #24 Posted: Tue Mar 15, 2011 5:00 pm 
Honinbo

Posts: 9202
Liked others: 1547
Was liked: 1595
KGS: Kirby
Tygem: 커비라고해
Just play there to figure out your rank. You cannot easily compare ranks to KGS since the systems are different. KGS has more of a weighted system than Tygem, so you cannot draw many conclusions about the rank of an arbitrary individual.

When the underlying models are different, it's hard to compare any two data points between models.

_________________
be immersed

Top
 Profile  
 
Offline
 Post subject: Re: Tygem for english users
Post #25 Posted: Tue Mar 15, 2011 7:50 pm 
Dies with sente
User avatar

Posts: 105
Location: Los Angeles
Liked others: 28
Was liked: 22
Rank: KGS 4 kyu
KGS: Tofu
uPWarrior wrote:

FOR WINE USERS:

Executing TygemGlobalSetup.exe created the c:/Programas/TygemGlobal folder with InstallTygem.exe in it. It was supposed to run it, but an error of missing dll ocurred.
I downloaded mfc42.dll from here:
http://www.dlldump.com/download-dll-fil ... nload.html
and copied it to c:/windows/system and then I was able to run InstallTygem.

It just installed and the login screen appeared, I'll see if I can register and play tomorrow, I hope this helps.


PS: The c:/etc is located under ~/.wine/, in case you didn't find it.
PS2: Apparently there are 2 mfc42.dll versions, one from win98 and the other from win2000. You need the last one, which can be found in the link I provided; in case you search for it somewhere else, keep this in mind because it might not work with the one you download.. I only got it right the third time.


This works great for me on wine 1.3.15 Thanks for the tip!

Top
 Profile  
 
Offline
 Post subject: Re: Tygem for english users
Post #26 Posted: Wed Mar 16, 2011 7:26 am 
Lives in gote

Posts: 338
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Liked others: 163
Was liked: 62
I won my first game bet last night.

Wow, I was so surprised by how betting a small amount of make-believe money could bring my emotions into a game that I was *watching* (not playing). It was a seven Dan amateur match, so many moves were over my head. But I kept reading out anything I possibly could. All the time thinking, "okay, how is white going to win this one?"

They say that emotional response can trigger strong memories of an event... Maybe I'll learn a trick or two.


This post by rubin427 was liked by: 1986
Top
 Profile  
 
Offline
 Post subject: Re: Tygem for english users
Post #27 Posted: Wed Mar 16, 2011 2:49 pm 
Lives with ko

Posts: 281
Location: France
Liked others: 69
Was liked: 25
Rank: yes
And what do you plan to do with all your betting money ?

Top
 Profile  
 
Offline
 Post subject: Re: Tygem for english users
Post #28 Posted: Wed Mar 16, 2011 6:30 pm 
Beginner

Posts: 18
Location: Austria
Liked others: 0
Was liked: 1
Rank: egf 3d
GD Posts: 16
pc with win7 64bit: i could install and run (well, had to install flash player for IE) the program without problems. i can play and bet without problem - i found no bugs so far.

laptop with win vista 32 bit: i could install the program without problems. but i get http 406 errors everywhere - does anyone know how to get rid of that error?

_________________
igonoma.blogspot.com

Top
 Profile  
 
Offline
 Post subject: Re: Tygem for english users
Post #29 Posted: Thu Mar 17, 2011 10:36 am 
Lives in sente
User avatar

Posts: 837
Liked others: 180
Was liked: 150
Rank: 3d
GD Posts: 422
KGS: komi
It's a nice app, but it's quite remarkable that it requires a patch every single day.

Top
 Profile  
 
Offline
 Post subject: Re: Tygem for english users
Post #30 Posted: Thu Mar 17, 2011 11:11 am 
Honinbo

Posts: 9202
Liked others: 1547
Was liked: 1595
KGS: Kirby
Tygem: 커비라고해
I would presume that patches get less frequent as the software matures. The Korean client, for example, only has patches periodically.

_________________
be immersed

Top
 Profile  
 
Offline
 Post subject: Re: Tygem for english users
Post #31 Posted: Thu Mar 17, 2011 5:39 pm 
Beginner

Posts: 3
Liked others: 0
Was liked: 0
Quote:

amnal wrote:
Cool.

Edit: Annoyingly, it doesn't Just Work in wine for me. If anyone gets it to do so, I'd love to know how. I haven't had a proper look yet, though.

uPWarrior wrote:

FOR WINE USERS:

Executing TygemGlobalSetup.exe created the c:/Programas/TygemGlobal folder with InstallTygem.exe in it. It was supposed to run it, but an error of missing dll ocurred.
I downloaded mfc42.dll from here:
http://www.dlldump.com/download-dll-fil ... nload.html
and copied it to c:/windows/system and then I was able to run InstallTygem.

It just installed and the login screen appeared, I'll see if I can register and play tomorrow, I hope this helps.


PS: The c:/etc is located under ~/.wine/, in case you didn't find it.
PS2: Apparently there are 2 mfc42.dll versions, one from win98 and the other from win2000. You need the last one, which can be found in the link I provided; in case you search for it somewhere else, keep this in mind because it might not work with the one you download.. I only got it right the third time.



It doesn't work for me, also. When I run wine TygemGlobal.exe, I get a black window with some small white rectangle on the right-bottom corner advertising FLASH PLAYER and a long output list:

wine TygemGlobal.exe
[color=#FFFFBF]fixme:shdocvw:PersistStreamInit_InitNew (0xf6b690)
err:ole:ITypeInfo_fnInvoke did not find member id -518, flags 0x4!
err:ole:ITypeInfo_fnInvoke did not find member id -517, flags 0x4!
fixme:urlmon:URLMonikerImpl_BindToObject use running object table
fixme:iphlpapi:NotifyAddrChange (Handle 0x7d6769c8, overlapped 0x7d6769ac): stub
fixme:system:SetProcessDPIAware stub!
................................................................
fixme:shdocvw:ClOleCommandTarget_Exec (0xf6b72c)->({000214d1-0000-0000-c000-000000000046} 37 0 0x32c0d8 (nil))
fixme:shdocvw:ClOleCommandTarget_Exec (0xf6b72c)->({000214d1-0000-0000-c000-000000000046} 84 0 (nil) 0x32c110)
err:ole:OLEPictureImpl_LoadJpeg Trying to load JPEG picture, but JPEG supported not compiled in.
err:ole:OleLoadPicture IPersistStream_Load failed
err:ole:OLEPictureImpl_LoadJpeg Trying to load JPEG picture, but JPEG supported not compiled in.
err:ole:OleLoadPicture IPersistStream_Load failed
fixme:shdocvw:PersistStreamInit_InitNew (0x1c97398)
err:ole:ITypeInfo_fnInvoke did not find member id -518, flags 0x4!
err:ole:ITypeInfo_fnInvoke did not find member id -517, flags 0x4!
fixme:urlmon:URLMonikerImpl_BindToObject use running object table
fixme:shdocvw:ClOleCommandTarget_QueryStatus (0x1c97434)->((null) 1 0x32c9a8 (nil))
................................................................
fixme:mshtml:HTMLBodyElement_put_rightMargin (0x1d56258)->()
fixme:mshtml:HTMLBodyElement_put_bottomMargin (0x1d56258)->()
fixme:shdocvw:ClOleCommandTarget_Exec (0xf6b72c)->((null) 21 2 (nil) (nil))
fixme:shdocvw:ClOleCommandTarget_Exec (0x1cc2d14)->((null) 21 2 (nil) (nil))
fixme:shdocvw:ClOleCommandTarget_Exec (0x1c97434)->((null) 21 2 (nil) (nil))
fixme:shdocvw:ClOleCommandTarget_Exec (0x1c97434)->((null) 28 2 0x32f6b4 (nil))
fixme:bidi:mirror stub: mirroring of characters not yet implemented

Top
 Profile  
 
Offline
 Post subject: Re: Tygem for english users
Post #32 Posted: Fri Mar 18, 2011 12:24 am 
Lives in gote

Posts: 335
Location: Germany
Liked others: 41
Was liked: 97
GD Posts: 351
quantumf wrote:
It's a nice app, but it's quite remarkable that it requires a patch every single day.


Looking at the state of the first release, which glitched on my box, I'm quite happy that there are frequent patches. It runs decently for me now. :)

Top
 Profile  
 
Offline
 Post subject: Re: Tygem for english users
Post #33 Posted: Fri Mar 18, 2011 2:47 am 
Lives in gote
User avatar

Posts: 491
Location: Germany
Liked others: 201
Was liked: 91
Rank: Fox 3D
GD Posts: 325
Pretty cool - anyone checked if they have the Fisher time system available? (I would really like to try playing with Fisher.)

_________________
Stay out of my territory! (W. White, aka Heisenberg)

Top
 Profile  
 
Offline
 Post subject: Re: Tygem for english users
Post #34 Posted: Fri Mar 18, 2011 8:28 am 
Oza
User avatar

Posts: 2777
Location: Seattle, WA
Liked others: 251
Was liked: 549
KGS: oren
Tygem: oren740, orenl
IGS: oren
Wbaduk: oren
SpongeBob wrote:
Pretty cool - anyone checked if they have the Fisher time system available? (I would really like to try playing with Fisher.)


They have pretty much no choices from what I've seen before when I played onTygem. You have the KGS equivalent of Japanese byoyomi and Japanese rules.

Top
 Profile  
 
Offline
 Post subject: Re: Tygem for english users
Post #35 Posted: Fri Mar 18, 2011 11:47 am 
Beginner

Posts: 2
Liked others: 0
Was liked: 0
Rank: kgs 2k
KGS: greenwich
I can't get TygemGlobal.exe to run under wine on Mac OS either. It installs correctly, and the client program gets as far as starting up and
connecting to a server and logging in, but it won't accept any Mouse input. Not even the window decorations are mouse-clickable. I see game request windows pop up but I cannot respond to them.

I tried both wine 1.2.2 and 1.3.15. Odd thing is Oro20.exe (the wbaduk client) works fine.

I am using XQuartz 2.3.6 and running the most current snow-leopard updates.

Anybody else experience these symptoms?

Top
 Profile  
 
Offline
 Post subject: Re: Tygem for english users
Post #36 Posted: Sun Mar 20, 2011 10:18 am 
Dies in gote

Posts: 31
Liked others: 7
Was liked: 2
Rank: KGS 15 kyu
KGS: mayweed
Would be great if it were a linux app too...Always mac or windows and never linux pff...I keep my dual-boot only for such app pff...

Top
 Profile  
 
Offline
 Post subject: Re: Tygem for english users
Post #37 Posted: Sun Mar 20, 2011 1:38 pm 
Lives in gote

Posts: 566
Liked others: 39
Was liked: 59
Rank: 1k
Universal go server handle: mw42
It's kind of funny how it says "the game has begun" when the game has ended. :scratch:

Top
 Profile  
 
Offline
 Post subject: Re: Tygem for english users
Post #38 Posted: Sun Mar 20, 2011 4:09 pm 
Dies with sente
User avatar

Posts: 105
Location: Los Angeles
Liked others: 28
Was liked: 22
Rank: KGS 4 kyu
KGS: Tofu
That's disappointing some people are having trouble getting this to run in wine. Mine is working a touch slowly in WINE 1.3.15, but very playable.

I have WINE set to run in Windows XP compatibility mode and have placed the suggested .dll file mentioned earlier in this thread in the .wine/drive_c/windows/system32 (and .wine/drive_c/windows/system) folder.

I'm running this in Ubuntu 9.10. I hope you guys can figure out a way to make it work.

Playing on Tygem is fun and different, its like a huge life and death problem from move 1 where KGS is much more "book style".

Top
 Profile  
 
Offline
 Post subject: Re: Tygem for english users
Post #39 Posted: Sun Mar 20, 2011 8:16 pm 
Lives in gote
User avatar

Posts: 448
Liked others: 127
Was liked: 34
Rank: Tygem 4d
GD Posts: 24
The Chinese version works fine on Linux.

_________________
"Those who calculate greatly will win; those who calculate only a little will lose, but what of those who don't make any calculations at all!? This is why everything must be calculated, in order to foresee victory and defeat."-The Art of War

Top
 Profile  
 
Offline
 Post subject: Re: Tygem for english users
Post #40 Posted: Tue Mar 22, 2011 5:38 pm 
Tengen

Posts: 4347
Location: North Carolina
Liked others: 486
Was liked: 721
Rank: AGA 3k
GD Posts: 65
OGS: Hyperpape 4k
Fodder for the iOS to Mac speculation: http://chameleonproject.org/ (and no, it's not directly about Tygem).

_________________
Occupy Babel!

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 56 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group