It is currently Fri Apr 19, 2024 12:52 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Internet censorship.
Post #1 Posted: Sat Apr 23, 2011 9:13 pm 
Dies in gote

Liked others: 3
Was liked: 0
This whole topic might seem really stupid, and the questions I may be asking may be obviously stupid, in which case I would like to be explained how they are.

There are many parallels between the North Korea of today and the China of just a few decades ago. I am no expert, I only have the most basic of high-school knowledge, but if I am correct I can't picture the PRC just letting Chinese people play go with people around the world. I did rudimentary research on the topic: "The escalation of the government's effort to neutralize critical online opinion comes after a series of large anti-Japanese, anti-pollution, anti-corruption protests, and ethnic riots, many of which were organized or publicized using instant messaging services, chat rooms, and text messages. The size of the Internet police is rumored at more than 30,000.[5] Critical comments appearing on Internet forums, blogs, and major portals such as Sohu and Sina usually are erased within minutes." (Wikipedia)

Is there a between the lines understanding, especially among Koreans, Japanese and Chinese people to not criticize or talk about the CPC critically that a clueless Westerner like me does not know about? Could there be internet filtering/censorship/monitoring in Tygem?

Is all of the above skepticism ridiculous; the Chinese govt would not waste time silencing people in a GO playing server as there are much more influential ways to end modes of communication? I am sorry if this is obvious and I am just really clueless.

Post subject: Re: Internet censorship.
Post #2 Posted: Sat Apr 23, 2011 11:05 pm 
Lives in gote

Liked others: 96
Was liked: 100
Your question is both challenging and naive, mainly because of the difficulty for international observers to contextualize the issue.