It is currently Mon Apr 22, 2024 11:11 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: player seems to change ranks on go servers
Post #1 Posted: Thu Apr 16, 2015 6:42 am 
Beginner

Liked others: 0
Was liked: 1
Hello,
I have a quick question that may be nothing. I just started playing on OGS, and I'm probably something like 18-19 kyu, but I've never used these online servers before. I was trying to find someone quite a bit better than me to play so I accepted a challenge from someone ranked as 11 kyu. When we started playing, I realized the game he set up was for him to begin with 2 black stones (so I had the handicap and was playing white). This is because I don't understand the notations on OGS for setting up games so I didn't realize he would get 2 stones, or I might not have taken that game). Then as soon as the game started, he was suddenly ranked as 19 kyu. Is this just a computer mistake, or is it possible that ranks can change like this? I mostly ask because he seems better than 19 kyu, but I really have very little experience playing other people.
Thank you

Post subject: Re: player seems to change ranks on go servers
Post #2 Posted: Thu Apr 16, 2015 8:33 am 
Beginner

Liked others: 5
Was liked: 4
DGS: MasterOfWTF
OGS: Gojira
thats really strange. did you ask him why this happend? you can ask people in the chat on OGS i guess you find someone who know about this problem

Post #3 Posted: Thu Apr 16, 2015 8:43 am 
Lives with ko

Liked others: 92
Was liked: 80
KGS: LocoRon
I haven't played on OGS in ages, but as I recall, it allows you to set your rank freely.