It is currently Fri Mar 29, 2024 8:55 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Making Go digestible?
Post #1 Posted: Wed Aug 26, 2015 12:57 pm 
Beginner

Liked others: 0
Was liked: 1
Does anyone have any advice on how to approach learning Go? I am a complete beginner, and I don't know anyone who plays the game. I have high interest in the game, but a full 19x19 board is very intimidating. Some of the main things I am looking for are a). a general strategy for gaining territory and limiting my opponents' because what I have read so far that are considered basics, like ladders and life and death exercises, are presumably useful, but they do not make the game any more approachable: I still do not have a general idea of what to do in an actual game, b). resources for learning Go's terminology: even in this beginners' forum section, I see phrases that I do not know, c.) resources for learning how to play Go better for complete beginners, and finally, d). advice about what to study and in what order, etc.

Post subject:
Post #2 Posted: Wed Aug 26, 2015 1:19 pm 
Honinbo

Liked others: 349
Was liked: 2076
GD Posts: 312
Hi Frisacra,

Welcome.

You ask good questions -- the same questions that others have been asking for many years. Some of them are easier to answer (like, where to look up a glossary of the jargon). Some of them are more difficult to answer, or even controversial, and people have heated debates over them! (1) :)

After you have learned the most basic rules about Go,
you may enjoy The Second Book of Go by Richard Bozulich.

I would also suggest you finish your first 100 games as soon as your time allows you to. (All board sizes are OK, but the smaller boards like 9x9, 13x13, etc. will let you finish more games in less time. Humans or robot opponents are OK. Yes, at the beginning, 19x19 can be very intimidating -- common experience. So, mix them all up. )