Post #1 Posted: Sun Mar 13, 2016 3:34 pm 
Dies in gote

Liked others: 21
Was liked: 9
Tygem: cmhobbs
IGS: cmhobbs
DGS: cmhobbs
Universal go server handle: cmhobbs
Online playing schedule: OGS for most any time, IGS occassionally after 2130 CST or on weekends, KGS if necessary.
I searched for information on this but the forum seems to have a bunch of posts about AlphaGo drowning out any useful posts.

I'm trying to increase a few stones to be able to play even games against some of the local players. I'm studying books, working problems, and playing games in person.

I want to get a few more games in and I have to travel to play in-person so that leaves playing online. I get really bad online go anxiety and I've not been able to kick it. I don't have that same anxiety playing bots on IGS or playing against GNU Go. A couple of people have told me that the bots will just cause me to start adopting bad habits and I'm not sure I understand why.

I'm sitting at 21kyu right now. Are bots and GNU Go useful opponents at such a low level or should I steer clear of them?

Thanks!

Post subject: Re: using bots for practice?
Post #2 Posted: Sun Mar 13, 2016 3:39 pm 
Oza

Liked others: 1180
Was liked: 552
while its true that bots tend to have general weaknesses that can be exploited by stronger players, and those exploitations can be considered bad habits that you should not learn to imitate, for lower level players, as long as you try to play honest moves, you should be able to learn a lot and improve from them.

Post #3 Posted: Sun Mar 13, 2016 3:57 pm 
Lives with ko

Liked others: 5
Was liked: 14