It is currently Wed Apr 24, 2024 9:18 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Timed Go
Post #1 Posted: Thu Jan 06, 2011 1:50 am 
Beginner

Liked others: 0
Was liked: 0
GD Posts: 10
I’m just getting into Go and last night me and a friend pulled my chess clock out for a game of 5 minute Go on a 9x9 board. I did notice in the chess clock (Chronos) manual there were Go specific time controls including Byoyomi and others which I’m going to look into today.

I was wondering though if it is possible to just play a 5 minute Go game? Each player being given 5 minutes for all his moves and once/if that run out he loses. I mean what is to stop a player near the end of a close game on time just placing his stones in his own or my territory even though he’s just doing himself damage in a scoring sense just to see the last minute or so out on the clock to win by time?

If my opponent was losing badly in a scoring sense but had 30 seconds on the clock to my 20 seconds and decided just to fill the board with his stones each move and that forced me to carry on probably doing similar but since i have slightly less time he’s going to force me to lose by default. That seems an optional tactic but very bad for the game. If this happens in chess it seems more plausible because of an instant kill of the king becoming more probably but in Go there is no instant kill. You both would be just filling in territory with no large gains being made either way.

Can anyone suggest a timing method for quick 5 minute (ish) games?

Post subject: Re: Timed Go
Post #2 Posted: Thu Jan 06, 2011 2:31 am 
Oza

Liked others: 1304
Was liked: 1128
Play with byo yomi. Absolute time makes the game a joke.

Post #3 Posted: Thu Jan 06, 2011 2:41 am 
Tengen

Liked others: 1589
Was liked: 656
GD Posts: 918
KGS: topazg
Both of these should be fine for a 5 minute (each) game on a 9x9 board:

3 mins + 3x0:10sec byo-yomi
3 mins + 5 secs per move fischer time

Post #4 Posted: Thu Jan 06, 2011 2:49 am