It is currently Fri Apr 26, 2024 6:45 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Vulnerable groups : memorised or re-analysed ?
Post #1 Posted: Tue Jan 11, 2011 9:35 am 
Beginner

Liked others: 0
Was liked: 0
Although I have been playing Go on and off for over 30 years, and reached about 5 kyu when I was playing very regularly, I still regard myself as a beginner who just happens to know the rules and a little of the strategy. And just recently I have re-started playing Go against the computer : at first SmartGo, then The Many Faces of Go, and now I am considering investing in a copy of Zen19. But when I play against the computer, I am surprised at the number of times that I fail to recognise that the computer's move has converted what had been a vulnerable-but-salvageable group into a group that has no viable future. In part, I understand what is happening : because I have been playing sufficiently long to know that I do not necessarily need to capture a potentially dangerous stone as soon as it is played, I tend to end up with quite a few isolated groups, each of which is vulnerable yet which could be saved so long as I remember what I need to do. Yet time and time again, the computer plays a second stone against a vulnerable group, I fail to spot the danger, and "bang", the group is dead. So my question is : what do good players do concerning vulnerable groups ? Do they remember them, so that as soon as a stone is placed in proximity they go on red alert ? Or do they simply re-analyse both the local and the global situation every time an opponent's stone is played ?

Last edited by Chaa006 on Wed Jan 12, 2011 2:27 am, edited 2 times in total.

Post subject: Re: Vulnerable groups : memorised or re-analysed ?
Post #2 Posted: Tue Jan 11, 2011 9:44 am 
Tengen

Liked others: 1589
Was liked: 656
GD Posts: 918
KGS: topazg
Chaa006 wrote: