It is currently Fri Mar 29, 2024 2:30 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: learning together?
Post #1 Posted: Mon Jan 24, 2011 12:52 pm 
Beginner

Liked others: 0
Was liked: 0
KGS: SJC91
So, I am new to Go, and I have always been interested in it.
I am buying a set for my own birthday next saturday, and I plan on bringing it to school to play with friends between classes.
Those said friends are also interested in learning.

I just have to ask this: Is it a good idea to learn with someone? Personally, I think it is a good idea, because we all can start getting an idea of the game through playing each other. I do plan on getting some books, but I plan to play more than read.

Post subject: Re: learning together?
Post #2 Posted: Mon Jan 24, 2011 1:02 pm 
Gosei

Liked others: 90
Was liked: 837
KGS: Capsule 4d
Tygem: 치킨까스 5d
sjoecool1991 wrote:
Is it a good idea to learn with someone?
Yes. This applies to more than just Go as well.

Post #3 Posted: Mon Jan 24, 2011 1:03 pm 
Tengen

Liked others: 62
Was liked: 505
KGS: magicwand
Tygem: magicwand
Wbaduk: rlatkfkd
DGS: magicwand
OGS: magicwand
sjoecool1991 wrote:
So, I am new to Go, and I have always been interested in it.
I am buying a set for my own birthday next saturday, and I plan on bringing it to school to play with friends between classes.
Those said friends are also interested in learning.

I just have to ask this: Is it a good idea to learn with someone? Personally, I think it is a good idea, because we all can start getting an idea of the game through playing each other. I do plan on getting some books, but I plan to play more than read.

it is good to have competition. but for learning it is best to have someone strong.

Words by neil peart, music by geddy lee and alex lifeson

Post #4 Posted: Tue Feb 08, 2011 6:22 am 
Beginner

Liked others: 0
Was liked: 2
KGS: antispin