It is currently Fri Apr 26, 2024 2:17 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: 100 Game for Beginners
Post #1 Posted: Tue Jun 14, 2011 8:29 pm 
Dies in gote

Liked others: 4
Was liked: 0
KGS: Lagniappe
I had a question about the 100 games. Several members have mentioned playing the first 100 games as quickly as possible for beginners. My question is does this mean 100 games strictly against humans or against computers as well? And why do the first so quickly? Does that mean don't necessarily consider every move but play on intuition? I'm still fairly new to the game, and honestly have no idea how many games I've played but I saw this and was wondering about it. Thanks ahead of time :D

-Boyce

Post subject: Re: 100 Game for Beginners
Post #2 Posted: Tue Jun 14, 2011 8:38 pm 
Dies in gote

Liked others: 6
Was liked: 10
KGS: ACGalaga
DGS: ACGalaga
Universal go server handle: ACGalaga
I'm in the same boat ATM but have not the time to dedicate. So, I'll continue at an average pace. But I think the expression is "Lose your first 50 games" (some say lose your first 100).

It's kind of like that story of the potters class, where the teacher told the students to brake their first 100 vazes after they make them. Allows one to focus on the "doing," I guess. Although, a little different in go, being that within your first 50 loses, you'll learn from all the mistakes you make.

Then again, I really don't know jack at all. Just making a presence on the forums ;)

Post #3 Posted: Tue Jun 14, 2011 8:43 pm 
Lives in sente

Liked others: 45
Was liked: 103
KGS: redundant/silchas
Tygem: redundant
Wbaduk: redundant
DGS: redundant
OGS: redundant
The point of the proverb is to get used to the shapes that appear in a game of go. Almost all of the cool things about go are never specified in the rules, but are emergent phenomena. Playing 100 games as quickly as possible is a good way to be able to recognize patterns in the game.

Post subject: