Post subject: Forum policies for teachers
Post #1 Posted: Sun Apr 06, 2014 8:39 am 
Judan

Liked others: 1103
Was liked: 1456
GD Posts: 1512
Kaya handle: Test
[admin]

In another post, there have been some concerns expressed over how we handle advertising by teachers. I have several comments about that.

First: I apologize to you members who find the modding too harsh. On reflection, you may be right.

Second: I agree with the suggestions for improving/clarifying the TOS. As an admin, I hate vague rules. I don't want to have to make Solomonic decisions every morning over breakfast. And even if I did have the wisdom to do it, still not everyone would be happy with the results because whatever decision would not be clearly in accordance with the TOS.

Third: There are several complications. I'm going to ask a bunch of speculative questions below. Some of them are clearly extreme examples that I don't really expect to encounter. I include them as an attempt to define the boundaries of the issue.

1) Do we let anybody advertise? Or do we have some restrictions? Do we police it? Or is it buyer beware?
As a parallel, I'm thinking of online sites like Amazon, eBay, and Craigslist.

On Amazon, the customer is always right. In a dispute, Amazon will back the buyer 90+% of the time, even when the seller has a more convincing case. This means that gazillions of customers buy there because they know that it is very unlikely that they get cheated.
eBay is a little more balanced. They consequently have a smaller customer base. Some sellers prefer this.
On Craigslist, the management does little but post warnings about how to recognize the most egregious frauds. Beyond that, you're on your own.

It is a spectrum: Amazon management does a lot more work. They get more customers.
Craigslist does very little. They get proportionately fewer customers.