It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 2:01 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: If you could recommend just _one_ game to study …
Post #1 Posted: Wed Jul 22, 2015 2:55 am 
Oza

Liked others: 8262
Was liked: 924
OGS: trohde
Universal go server handle: trohde
Hello everybody,

I realise that I have far too little time to invest in Go … so I can’t really study as much as I’d like to do. Currently I’m perhaps around 11 kyu (oscillating between 13k and 11k for the past ~3 years), I think, though that can be wrong since I’ve been playing correspondence games exclusively for the past two years (on OGS, which may be important for the accuracy of my rank), (except for Real Life games in “my” Go club every Friday night where I still am the strongest player). I have done perhaps ten thousand Tsumego. I have never (NEVER!) replayed any classic or contemporary pro game.

So, I’d like to ask you for a favour:

If you could recommend only one specific high-class game record to study, which would that be? I’m aware of the possibility that three commentators here could recommend four different games :lol: but it can as well be that you agree more about a singular, exquisite game than I can foresee … I don’t know yet how to decide between different recommendations, if there are, but maybe you can convince me that I should take yours? Keep in mind that this might be the only game record I may study until I can retire (in seven years, which seems like eternity to me).

I promise that I’ll play out that one game on my Goban, over the time of perhaps the next two months.

Greetings, and thanks in advance!

Tom

p.s.: I’d have made a poll with some games to choose from if I knew, but if I did, I’d probably not write this whole post.

HAHA, Shodan in two months!!!!1

<jk> ;-)

Post subject:
Post #2 Posted: Wed Jul 22, 2015 3:49 am 
Honinbo

Liked others: 349
Was liked: 2076
GD Posts: 312
Hi Tom,

Short & blunt reply: I think it's a wrong question. :)

Longer: