It is currently Tue Apr 16, 2024 1:24 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Experience with Teaching Beginners
Post #1 Posted: Sun Nov 10, 2013 11:57 am 
Judan

Liked others: 0
Was liked: 786
What is everybody's experience with teaching beginners? Since oren asks, let me start with a few notes about my own experience:

Apart from written teaching, my teaching of beginners (in this thread, I mean double digit kyu players) comprises clubs, tournaments and pupils. I have very little experience with teaching absolute beginners (newbies), e.g., I have never taught at schools.

My experience in clubs was mostly from 1991 to ca. 1997; since mid 1993 "teaching" starts to make some sense. However, it was not pure teaching, but post-game discussion. Nothing special, and not so impressive as teaching, IIRC. At that time, I simply was a player.

My teaching at tournament events is mostly at the European Go Congresses since 1993, simply because this event allows very much time for friendly games or teaching. I play many games against many players of all levels, but EGCs have very few players weaker than 20 kyu, so teaching beginners concerns 20 to 10 kyus. I'd say that most were satisfied to delighted by my teaching. A few regulars would ask me several times at every congress to review their games, because, as they said, they liked the reason- and explanation-orientated teaching.