It is currently Tue Apr 23, 2024 4:05 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Go curriculum book series
Post #1 Posted: Sun Jul 03, 2016 3:34 pm 
Lives with ko

Liked others: 2
Was liked: 25
Hi :)

In Chess, there's a Dutch series called the "Steps Method", which has been translated to many different languages. After following these books, a complete beginner in Chess will end up at playing between 2000 and 2100 ELO after step 6. (Regrettably, this series wasn't yet around at the time I learned to play Chess. Now that I think of it, I've never reached 2100 ELO. Maybe, at some point, I should read the later books in this series.)

In Go, I have only found one similar series: Level Up (30k-10k, 10 books), and Jump Level Up (10k-1k), published by BadukTopia. I see that these series get good to very good reviews.

Are there any other similar series available for Go?

Post subject: Re: Go curriculum book series
Post #2 Posted: Sun Jul 03, 2016 6:15 pm 
Dies in gote

Liked others: 7
Was liked: 5
I think these qualify - I am using them with my kids now:

http://senseis.xmp.net/?GradedGoProblemsForBeginners

Post #3 Posted: Sun Jul 03, 2016 9:53 pm 
Judan

Liked others: 0
Was liked: 788
Babelardus wrote:
these series get good to very good reviews.

Presumably the books are attractive for some, from whom you might see reviews. They are unattractive for others. I found them so contents-light that I saw no point in browsing through them for more than a few seconds, let alone reviewing them. Consider buying them if you like learning in "comic" style - otherwise disregard them. Frankly, they are cheap enough, so why not get some book and judge by yourself if it meets your preference?

Post #4 Posted: Mon Jul 04, 2016 2:05 am 
Lives with ko

RobertJasiek wrote:
Babelardus wrote:
these series get good to very good reviews.