It is currently Tue Apr 30, 2024 1:30 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: EGD machine friendly access
Post #1 Posted: Sun Oct 04, 2015 12:34 am 
Dies with sente

Liked others: 6
Was liked: 4
Hi,
I am a programming newbie so sorry if I don't get the obvious etc. I would like to play with the European database data a bit but cannot find a good way to extract tournament wall lists. Is there some way I can querry the database in the fashion "List tournament codes of all tournaments which ..." and "Send just the clean tournament wall list for the tournament code xxxxxxxx"?
Thanks in advance

Post subject: Re: EGD machine friendly access
Post #2 Posted: Sun Oct 04, 2015 2:32 am 
Gosei

Liked others: 202
Was liked: 1087
GD Posts: 645
Universal go server handle: herminator
Have you tried emailing the EGD developers? They have an email address for questions listed at the bottom of the website.

Post #3 Posted: Sun Oct 04, 2015 7:15 am 
Lives in sente

Liked others: 0
Was liked: 181
tiger314 wrote:
Hi,
I am a programming newbie so sorry if I don't get the obvious etc. I would like to play with the European database data a bit but cannot find a good way to extract tournament wall lists. Is there some way I can querry the database in the fashion "List tournament codes of all tournaments which ..." and "Send just the clean tournament wall list for the tournament code xxxxxxxx"?
Thanks in advance

Since you say you are a "newbie" let me point something out.

You have to think about the behavior of the application you are trying to design. If it will be making only a few queries against the database, go after it normally. But if you think it might be making a lot of them (more than a couple percent of the database) it could be MUCH faster to first get a (flat file) copy of the backup of the database and extract your data en masse.

CONTACT THOSE IN CHARGE OF THIS DATABASE.