It is currently Fri Apr 19, 2024 5:01 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Looking for a slotted Go board
Post #1 Posted: Wed Oct 28, 2015 3:01 pm 
Beginner

Liked others: 1
Was liked: 0
Hello,

I'm new to the game and I'm looking for a nice slotted Goban that I could put in my backpack and take with me to coffee shops or friends' houses.

The existing links to slotted boards across topics in the forum mostly point to ymimports.com and are currently broken 404 links.

My budget is USD ~$200 just for the board. I have no idea about the differences between good and bad boards, but I am a quality freak, so would like something that feels and looks nice and solid. The reason I don't want a folding board is because the gap along the folding line does not feel nice.

A soft board does not feel nice also. At that point I might as well just use a large tablet, which is what I'm doing right now.

I did come across a nice slotted board at a local Go enthusiasts' club here in Austin that I liked the feel of, but the guy said he got it 30 years ago, and those are no longer in production.

Any pointers would be much appreciated.

Thanks!

Last edited by sssilver on Wed Oct 28, 2015 3:35 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Post subject:
Post #2 Posted: Wed Oct 28, 2015 3:32 pm 
Honinbo

Liked others: 349
Was liked: 2076
GD Posts: 312
sssilver wrote:
My budget is ~$200.
Hi sssilver,

Which currency ? Is that US$ ? Is the $200 just for the board,
or for the entire set ( board + stones + bowls ) ?

If it's US$200 just for board, I would recommend you get a nice table board --
you get a much better deal than a folding board. Although I understand the portability issue. :)

I've been carrying my 2" table board (shown in my avatar) for over 10 years to coffee shops
(now twice a week for our Go club). I don't mind it, but I can see it's too much for others. :)

Post subject: Re:
Post #3 Posted: Wed Oct 28, 2015 3:34 pm 
Beginner

EdLee wrote:
sssilver wrote: