It is currently Fri Apr 19, 2024 8:47 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Help me with calculating/avoiding border taxes with Kuroki
Post #1 Posted: Sat Jul 16, 2016 5:28 am 
Beginner

Liked others: 2
Was liked: 5
KGS: 6
Hi everyone, as a lot of you know I still want a nice Go set and don't have one atm. My birthday is coming and I have an important job interview next Tuesday which can rescue me from unemployment. In top of this, Kuroki is celebrating his centennial anniversary with some juicy discounts in the blue label series.

I'm not an expert of any kind and my budget is really tight (400€ -ish) so blue label is the only quality I can afford and I think I'd be more than happy with a regular shin-kaya board (but size20, I just really like thick boards). Of course I'd like to purchase the thicker stones the better too, but with shipping cost and taxes everything skyrockets to nonsense (I live in Spain).

For example: the set with size 30 stones, kuri XL bowls, and size 20 shin-kaya board is around 255€. What a deal!, I told to myself, BUT:

Shipping cost: 115€ (sea is REALLY SLOW and I worry about humedity, this is is the cheapest AIR service Kuroki provides and last around 3 weeks)
NOW THE TAXES!!!

21% IVA + 3% (ish) duty + 28€ administrative fee...

And worst of all I think the % is applied to the value of the order PLUS shipment... if that's the case the set would finally cost around 485€, so it almost double it's priece.

Questions!

1. Is still worth it at that price?
2. Is there any method of avoiding this savage increase of price?
3. Maybe I can purchase something in EU of same quality for a better price? (I really want to purchase in Kuroki but omg the taxes...)
4. General feelings about the set, maybe you think it's worth it to pay more for a better one (size stones related, etc)

Thx for the info and for sharing your own experiences, I hope I can manage to do "something" and finally get a nice set.