It is currently Fri Apr 19, 2024 11:22 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: New goban table set. Need advice.
Post #1 Posted: Mon Oct 14, 2019 6:33 am 
Beginner

Liked others: 2
Was liked: 1
Hello. I am a beginner who just purchased an itame (Ki-ura) go table with legs; size 36, 20mm x 10mm stones (182 x2); and bowl set from a used furniture store in Kyoto, Japan. The table was very faded out so I oiled it today. Now the color and grain are visible...but old mold spots also showed up. I think I need to sand it down (following guidelines I found on this site) and start over... is it worth the effort? The top of the table has a few dings, but to me it adds to the character of the table so I'm not going to worry about them. The measurements are 422mm x 452mm x 140mm. The table is a golden tan, the pictures do not show the color well.

I also cleaned the stones (following guidelines I found on this site) even though they did not look bad. The slate stones look very typical, nothing special. I have struggled to figure out anything about the white stones though. Looking at a photo posted on here that shows hyuga stones coloring, it seems like about 64 of the 182 white stones have coloring, but I may be mistaken (maybe they just need to be cleaned again). Almost all of the stones have grain on top and bottom. All of the stones are the exact same 20x10mm. Is this shell coloring or just in need of another cleaning?

The bowls seem common, but another post on here pointed out that if there was a mark on the bottom, that may be helpful in figuring out what the bowls were made of. There are what appear to be two kanji marks burned into the bottom. They are not clear even with a magnifying glass. Does anyone recognize the mark?

I think I was very lucky to have gotten the entire set for 32,800 yen (about $320).

The photos should be here: https://www.flickr.com/gp/184996277@N04/j73ja0

Any advice on how to take care of my new set would be greatly appreciated.