It is currently Fri Apr 19, 2024 2:23 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: The One-Eyed Fool (game review #1)
Post #1 Posted: Sat Mar 31, 2018 4:31 am 
Lives in gote

Liked others: 62
Was liked: 116
Since I work as a teacher, I have the fortune to have the Easter Holiday now, and be home for 2 weeks.
Depending on the weather (spring is not yet in the air, unfortunately), I intend to spend rather a big chunck of my time on playing Go.
Counting from today until I have to get back at work, I have 16 days. During that time, I want to study Go, replay pro games, read books, do tsumego etc etc. But I also want to play games.
I will play games irl against people, but I am also looking at playing online. No blitz games, but serious games. At least 20 mins + 30 s Byo-Yomi.
More than that, I want to review those particular games, and hope to learn from them. I'd rather lose all my games for the next two weeks and improve a stone, than win them all and not get stronger.

For 16 days, I set my objective to 10 games. If I can play 10 online games AND self review them all, I think improvement is almost guaranteed (you're never certain, of course).

I review my games by going through them move by move, always checking with Leela. I play out some variations and think out loud, writing down my thoughts in the sgf file. I takes me more than an hour to review.
I most definitely appreciate anyone giving me additional insight in my playing. Or correcting me if my reasoning is wrong.

So for the next two weeks, this is a game review series titled: The One-Eyed Fool!
(title comes from a big mistake in this first game. I thought I had two eyes, but actually I had 1, so I was pretty dead)

Post subject: Re: The One-Eyed Fool (game review #1)
Post #2 Posted: Sun Apr 01, 2018 7:19 am 
Dies in gote

Liked others: 12
Was liked: 9
KGS: struttnoddy
For some reason I couldn't download the sgf (maybe just me!) so I've made some points below :)