It is currently Sun Sep 15, 2019 5:42 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
Offline
 Post subject: What is the score under this seki situation?
Post #1 Posted: Sat May 11, 2019 11:51 pm 
Lives with ko

Posts: 149
Liked others: 273
Was liked: 48
Rank: 3d
KGS: 3d
DGS: 3d
OGS: 3d
One of my games on LittleGolem is in the final score counting stage: http://littlegolem.net/jsp/game/game.jsp?gid=1966165

However, I think both snapshots are not the correct score. With Japanese rule, it seems white might need to capture the two stones and black needs to place one more in it, so white gets 3 pts for the seki group while black has 0 pt for the seki group, so the final score is W+0.5 ? What do you think?

Attachment:
Screen Shot 2019-05-11 at 11.41.59 PM.png
Screen Shot 2019-05-11 at 11.41.59 PM.png [ 532.75 KiB | Viewed 654 times ]

Attachment:
Screen Shot 2019-05-11 at 11.42.13 PM.png
Screen Shot 2019-05-11 at 11.42.13 PM.png [ 555.06 KiB | Viewed 654 times ]

Top
 Profile  
 
Offline
 Post subject: Re: What is the score under this seki situation?
Post #2 Posted: Sun May 12, 2019 5:14 am 
Honinbo

Posts: 8807
Liked others: 2595
Was liked: 3005
gamesorry wrote:
One of my games on LittleGolem is in the final score counting stage: http://littlegolem.net/jsp/game/game.jsp?gid=1966165

However, I think both snapshots are not the correct score.
Quote:

To get an accurate score under Japanese rules you need to fill all the dame, except necessary dame in seki.

Quote:
With Japanese rule, it seems white might need to capture the two stones and black needs to place one more in it, so white gets 3 pts for the seki group while black has 0 pt for the seki group, so the final score is W+0.5 ? What do you think?


Under Japanese rules you capture stones in hypothetical play after play has stopped only to determine whether they are dead or not. With actual play before play has stopped or after the game is resumed, captures are made as usual.

If there are dead stones inside regular territory, it is best to leave them alone if they do not need to be captured, because after play is over you can just remove without capturing them. If there are dead stones inside seki, since there is no territory, there is no penalty for actually capturing them before the end of play or in resumption, and dead stones cannot be removed from seki by hypothetical play, so it is best just to capture the stones before the end of play or to resume play and do so. IIUC, White should resume play and capture the stones, and both players should fill the dame before counting.

_________________
The Adkins Principle:

At some point, doesn't thinking have to go on?

— Winona Adkins

I think it's a great idea to talk during sex, as long as it's about snooker.

— Steve Davis


This post by Bill Spight was liked by: gamesorry
Top
 Profile  
 
Offline
 Post subject: Re: What is the score under this seki situation?
Post #3 Posted: Sun May 12, 2019 4:10 pm 
Oza
User avatar

Posts: 2152
Location: Tokyo, Japan
Liked others: 1990
Was liked: 1216
Rank: Jp 6 dan
KGS: ez4u
Since there are no points in a seki under Japanese rules, White gains only two points by capturing the stones. So the game result will not change, B+. Filling the dame is unnecessary. It appears that the server has scored the boundaries correctly.

_________________
Dave Sigaty
"Short-lived are both the praiser and the praised, and rememberer and the remembered..."
- Marcus Aurelius; Meditations, VIII 21

Top
 Profile  
 
Offline
 Post subject: Re: What is the score under this seki situation?
Post #4 Posted: Sun May 12, 2019 5:33 pm 
Lives in gote

Posts: 411
Liked others: 1
Was liked: 114
Rank: KGS 2k
GD Posts: 100
KGS: Tryss
@ez4u : white will capture the two black stones, but black then need to add a new stone inside, and white will capture this stone too.


This post by Tryss was liked by: gamesorry
Top
 Profile  
 
Offline
 Post subject: Re: What is the score under this seki situation?
Post #5 Posted: Sun May 12, 2019 7:08 pm 
Oza
User avatar

Posts: 2152
Location: Tokyo, Japan
Liked others: 1990
Was liked: 1216
Rank: Jp 6 dan
KGS: ez4u
You are right! And I was careless, not noticing the one black point scored in the seki by the server. :oops: So if White captures the extra stones, does the server score it correctly? Under Japanese rules, players have to capture the extra stones in a seki AFAIK. If they do not, they do not count.

_________________
Dave Sigaty
"Short-lived are both the praiser and the praised, and rememberer and the remembered..."
- Marcus Aurelius; Meditations, VIII 21


This post by ez4u was liked by: gamesorry
Top
 Profile  
 
Offline
 Post subject: Re: What is the score under this seki situation?
Post #6 Posted: Tue May 14, 2019 3:42 pm 
Lives with ko

Posts: 212
Liked others: 3
Was liked: 19
Rank: 6k
GD Posts: 25
KGS: phillip19
the problem with japanese rules is how they count seki in my opinion. i would define a point as - if you surround an intersection, and it cant be taken from you, then its a point. here, white can clearly capture the two stones, thus they are dead and can be removed as captures in the end of the game. aga has good rules for handling a dispute. when you pass you give up a stone, and if there's a dispute on the board, the game is resumed and any stones left on the board after four passes are considered alive, and Chinese counting is then employed.

Top
 Profile  
 
Offline
 Post subject: Re: What is the score under this seki situation?
Post #7 Posted: Tue May 14, 2019 4:05 pm 
Oza
User avatar

Posts: 2152
Location: Tokyo, Japan
Liked others: 1990
Was liked: 1216
Rank: Jp 6 dan
KGS: ez4u
phillip1882 wrote:
the problem with japanese rules is how they count seki in my opinion. i would define a point as - if you surround an intersection, and it cant be taken from you, then its a point. here, white can clearly capture the two stones, thus they are dead and can be removed as captures in the end of the game. aga has good rules for handling a dispute. when you pass you give up a stone, and if there's a dispute on the board, the game is resumed and any stones left on the board after four passes are considered alive, and Chinese counting is then employed.

I think this is not correct. You cannot remove stones in a seki at the end of a game under Japanese rules, unlike dead stones within a living group. Otherwise the seki would collapse. In order to get the points, White must go ahead and capture the stones, removing them from the board. If White does not do so, the stones are part of the seki and count as zero points. Amateurs in Japan make this kind of mistake often in over-the-board play.

_________________
Dave Sigaty
"Short-lived are both the praiser and the praised, and rememberer and the remembered..."
- Marcus Aurelius; Meditations, VIII 21

Top
 Profile  
 
Offline
 Post subject: Re: What is the score under this seki situation?
Post #8 Posted: Tue May 14, 2019 4:53 pm 
Honinbo

Posts: 8807
Liked others: 2595
Was liked: 3005
The problem with both Japanese and Chines rules is that they count points needed to live. Bring back the group tax! :grumpy:

_________________
The Adkins Principle:

At some point, doesn't thinking have to go on?

— Winona Adkins

I think it's a great idea to talk during sex, as long as it's about snooker.

— Steve Davis


This post by Bill Spight was liked by: apetresc
Top
 Profile  
 
Offline
 Post subject: Re: What is the score under this seki situation?
Post #9 Posted: Sun May 19, 2019 11:28 pm 
Lives with ko

Posts: 149
Liked others: 273
Was liked: 48
Rank: 3d
KGS: 3d
DGS: 3d
OGS: 3d
Thanks for the confirmation, we managed to get to the W+0.5 score in the end (luckily each group ended up with one eye so the extra points cancelled out) :)

Attachment:
Screen Shot 2019-05-18 at 11.16.02 PM.png
Screen Shot 2019-05-18 at 11.16.02 PM.png [ 551.89 KiB | Viewed 310 times ]

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group