All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: From DDK to who knows where
Post #1 Posted: Mon Mar 24, 2014 10:00 am 
Lives with ko

Liked others: 288
Was liked: 65
OGS: Joellercoaster
Right then.

I've been playing sporadically for about six months, and know enough to realise two things:

1) I'm in for the duration. This is not going to go away.
2) I'm have hit a wall. Evenly-rated games on OGS are starting to go against me, sometimes pretty crushingly. And my rating has stabilised.

This second thing is annoying. The initial acceleration based on just playing games randomly and learning on the fly has petered out, and I was enjoying that.

So some kind of systematic approach is required.

Time is an issue for me... as is concentration span, apparently. I have a small collection of books that are so far mostly unread, partly because I am still trying to figure out the best way to benefit from them. I have a board, but nobody to play on it with, though it certainly makes it easier to play things out from books - I am terrible at reading kifu, even shortish ones.

Actually, a list of things I'm terrible at is a good place to start (other than "everything" which, while technically the case, is not good for generating next steps):

1. Reading ahead. By far the weakest thing.
2. Shape. Also pretty bad.

The first two lead to being bad at

3. Fighting.

I am also terrible at reading Go books. The kifu thing is gradually getting better but I have a big problem with reading books making me want to play immediately. Since with OGS there are always turns waiting, I suddenly find myself online and playing every page or so. This leads to a lot of re-reading, or abandoning the book altogether :P

I suspect that I am also leaning much too hard on OGS's Analyze Game feature, leading to atrophy of my reading skill.