Liked others: 26
Was liked: 20
KGS: 2k
Tygem: 2d
IGS: 1k
Wbaduk: 2d
OGS: 1K
Hi everyone.
I intended to start a thread about my games and the blunders I should try to avoid 'next time', but since I also wanted to write a journal anyway, I thought I might as well combine the two.

Once Upon a Time

Since I started playing Go again around 2014 October (?) I thought a lot about what might be my weak(est) points. Remembering that the type of players that troubled me the most were the aggressive ones who played overplays all over the place (or so it seemed to me) I started an account on Tygem which is famous for those bloodthirsty fighters (plus I was about 1 dan there which is good for the ego ;-) )
Since I streamed my games and commented them at the same time in English to try to improve that as well, I thought it might take me some time to adjust.
But I quickly realized that I had a WAY bigger problem...

Last edited by Dontbtme on Sat Oct 03, 2015 7:56 am, edited 1 time in total.

Post subject: Re: Dontbme's Blunders
Post #2 Posted: Fri Jul 10, 2015 12:28 am 
Dies with sente

Weak Point #1

After playing twenty games or so and struggling to reach a fifty-fifty winning ratio, I had an odd feeling: something just didn't add up.
I then checked my stats and was astonished: I lost ALMOST all of my games as White!
I knew I was uncomfortable when my opponent had the first move because he could force an opening theme on me, and it always seemed like I was trying to make up for a bad start, but I thought it was a psychological problem, not a real thing!
Ugh, was I crushed!
At first. Because now I had a clear idea of what to improve! So I searched my book collection and found eventually something of use: A Dictionary of Modern Fuseki.
That was it! All I had to do was to study some White's openings and then I would become 2, 3, 6 stones stronger ;-) in a matter of weeks! Yay!