It is currently Fri Apr 26, 2024 6:24 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Christos' Delightful Go Madness
Post #1 Posted: Sun Aug 01, 2010 2:23 pm 
Dies in gote

Liked others: 12
Was liked: 9
Greetings, fellow L19x19ers.

Before you start reading, please enjoy some vocaloid madness.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_xtEy951Dic

Past
To start this topic off I'll start with a glimpse into my Go history.
I started playing a year and a half ago or so, or rather, I became familiar with the game.
I played a little on KGS, but just a bit, I was mainly playing Chess as I was a member of a chess club
and competed in the internal and external competition. Until 3 months or so ago, go was not a lot more than just something to do
when incredibly bored, as my main focus was Chess. However the more Chess I played, the more restricted I felt. This tiny board could
never capture one's true intentions. I started playing more Go and now I have come to a point where I am truely ready to dedicate all the time
I have to this gorgeous game.

Present
I am currently 5K on KGS. I have in my possession ;

- several books on Go
- A freshly purchased year subscription to Guo Juan's internet go school
- A wonderful teacher whom will be teaching me three times a week

I intend to use all of these resources to the fullest of their potential in order to become stronger.

Future
I have no particular ranking goals as of yet, as I don't believe setting those at this particular time will help me improve.
My goal is simply to get a better understanding of the game and become stronger.

I intend to attend the 2011 EGC in Bordeaux and all of my training will be with that thought in the back of my mind. It'll most likely be my
first real life tournament and I would very much like to register as a very strong player and perform well.

Current Schedule on a day by day basis