It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 10:34 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 176 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 9  Next
 Post subject: Progress in Black and White
Post #1 Posted: Wed Jun 08, 2016 2:57 pm 
Lives with ko

Liked others: 6
Was liked: 16
Hi all,

I'm a 25 year old who got trapped and consumed by this game to an almost unhealthy (some say) level ever since I started playing it just after christmas 2015 - so now just a bit more than 6 months later I find that I've played 153 games in total (including a dozen that were either 9x9 or 13x13) and still just or even more obsessed. Hence this journal.

Here I intend to document the games I play and thus force myself to reflect over them - win or loss - in order to improve. Also I'm doing it to structure my studying which has been a bit haphazard of late.

My goal is simply to improve - which is what I say but I'm no less rank-fixated than anyone so yeh, shodan, that's the goal to start anyway. The 2nd goal following the first would be to take white against my friend (whom I have an even record against playing with 9 stones handicap). So yeh, progress is required.

Any suggestions for me to as to what to study, or comments on the games I post are of course incredibly welcome.

Gamewise - I try to play one game a day on KGS in order to uncover my rank there since I've recently been playing several places (Some OGS, Tygem and the local club) and haven't achieved a steady rank. However I've also been doing a lot of "off the board" studying.

Go Problems - I'm currently working my way through Cho Chikun's Elementary Life & Death - and I'm at like 420 / 900 as of now.

Pro games - I also frequently play through pro games, which even if it might not improve my skills that much is something I find enjoyable. Currently I'm memorising the Gu Li / Lee Sedol jubango (or memorising memorising, at least the 100 or so first moves or so).