It is currently Thu Apr 18, 2024 5:48 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: On the effectiveness of tsumego, Sora's study journal
Post #1 Posted: Mon May 29, 2017 6:08 am 
Beginner

Liked others: 0
Was liked: 0
KGS: 9k
Hi everyone, I've been reading this forum for a while, but I've just made an account today, so please allow me to introduce myself.

I'm 20, and I have been playing go for 3 years on and off, (mostly off). Sadly I never really had time to dedicate to go as much as I'd like because of school and work. Recently I've changed jobs, and like 50% of the time I'm doing basically nothing, and my boss allows me to read, watch videos or do whatever I like as long as I do my job well. And in my free time I also have no real responsibilities (not married, no kids, etc), and I'm nearing the end of my academic studies, so I've decided to dedicate all of this blessed and newly found free time to improve at go, since I like this game very much.

So, how am I going to do it? What does every strong player tell weaker players to do in order to improve? Do tsumego. And that's exactly what I intend to do.

The thing is, I won't do ''X'' problems a day, since that might lead to extreme burnout if I find the problems for that specific day particularly difficult, but instead I'll exercise my reading ability for a set amount of time each day (say, minimum 1 hour). It doesn't matter if I do 5 or 100 problems as long as I'm making an effort to read and improve my ability to calculate, and doing it every single day. Of course, all of this is meaningless if I don't pause and make an effort to read in my actual games, so that's an attitude I must radically change, instead of playing just by ''gut feeling''.

This is half a study journal, and half a kind of research paper, to document how my brain reacts to doing a lot of tsumego everyday, and how it affects my games.