All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Think and Grow Old
Post #1 Posted: Mon Jun 25, 2018 9:03 am 
Lives in gote

Liked others: 196
Was liked: 342
IGS: Reisei 1d
Online playing schedule: When I can
After another hiatus, I find myself becoming interested in go again.

I had sworn off it, as I was concerned about the amount of time it tends to take. I've become increasingly serious about musical composition, and have been devoting myself to it almost to the point of monasticism. However, everybody needs a diversion now and then. Go is just the thing: like a drug, it makes one forget reality for a while, and unlike other drugs it can refresh the other parts of one's mind.

Those of you who know me, either in real life or online, will know that I've often espoused various kinds of mental saws from checklists to the "compass". Well, I've finally come around to ditching that kind of crutch completely. One reason is my experience with chess. About two years ago, I started playing chess again, and approached it by playing over lots of master games and examples. I managed to achieve my highest-ever ratings and become a city champion, which is not bad for somebody in their mid-40s. I still play chess a lot. And what worked for me was a) having a large number of games in my experience and b) learning to play each position on its own merits (I was influenced in that by a book called Move First and Think Later). To cut to the chase, I've started to wonder if the same approach could work for playing go.