Post subject: creating a journal
Post #1 Posted: Sat Nov 20, 2010 1:41 am 
Dies with sente

Liked others: 0
Was liked: 2
KGS: markeemark
Online playing schedule: irregular due to work
Hi Folks

Im very new to go and would be keen to develop a study journal. I have seen people's on line and would like to build a journal of study, as a complete new player, I was wondering whether at the beginning it was better to read the books I have (Davies, Iwamoto etc) in order to get some feel and then go from there. Or whether people had any advice on creating a beginner's journal.

I have downloaded some good tsumego problems and am starting to look through them.

Finally does anyone no where i can get a decent set from in the uk?

thanks

markeemark

Post subject: Re: creating a journal
Post #2 Posted: Sat Nov 20, 2010 4:47 am 
Lives with ko

Liked others: 4
Was liked: 37
Universal go server handle: MagicMagor
Quote:
I was wondering whether at the beginning it was better to read the books I have (Davies, Iwamoto etc) in order to get some feel and then go from there. Or whether people had any advice on creating a beginner's journal.

For a beginner (30k) i would say, lay the books aside and play. The fastest way to get a feel for the game is actually playing it. So go an a server (i recommened KGS) and start playing some games against real people, playing on a 9x9 is best for a beginner. Play against stronger or equal opponents and get a stronger player to comment on your games.
With this you get experience on how stones interact, what typicals moves and shapes are. With that you can look at the other options to get stronger.