It is currently Sat Apr 27, 2024 7:58 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: My Shodan Challenge - Zero to Hero in One Year
Post #1 Posted: Fri Apr 15, 2011 5:43 am 
Lives with ko

Liked others: 14
Was liked: 23
Hey there :) , hajimemashite.

First, a little about my go history: I started playing 2 months ago (Valentine's Day :D ), after becoming frustrated about the lack of English material available for shogi. As it turns out, I enjoy go more than shogi anyway, so it was perhaps a good thing!

My rank after 2 months is 8k on KGS, but I think my true strength is ~6-7k (I've won like 20 straight games on KGS). I don't play on KGS often anymore, so my rank indeed might be slightly outdated. I'm currently playing around 40-50 turn based games on DGS/OGS.

Now, my motivation is that my country's go association have issued a 'shodan challenge' - challenging people to go from their kyu rank to a higher rank (up to a maximum of 1d) in one year. I found this just after I started playing, and naturally being an ambitious person I was like "Oh, I'll try to go from absolute beginner to 1d in one year!" :lol: . My country's association offer mentors I think, but this year's shodan challenge doesn't start until June anyway, so I may as well go at it myself. There are two dan level players at my university club who are really helpful and I feel I've learnt a lot from - I'm very grateful for all of their kind and generous assistance.

I can't spend as much time as I'd like on go at the moment since I'm preparing for my final university exams (I will graduate with a maths degree in a couple of months ^_^ .) When I've graduated I'll be able to study go a lot over summer.

I'm trying not to set goals like "I want to be 4-5k by June" etc. since I feel that just puts unnecessary pressure on. February 2012 is far enough away that I don't feel any pressure yet as far as achieving my 1-dan goal is concerned.