It is currently Sun Apr 28, 2024 1:47 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: First go goal: stable mid-SDK by September
Post #1 Posted: Thu May 10, 2012 11:39 am 
Dies in gote

Liked others: 0
Was liked: 0
Hello all! I decided to post a study journal here to organize my thoughts, obtain input and encouragement from others, and put a direct goal forward for my go progress. I started playing Go around April of 2011, played on and off for a while, and essentially gave it up almost entirely by September. Recently, I started playing more seriously and rediscovered the beauty and excitement that first made me interested in the game. Now, I want to focus my studies and actively work toward a goal. In September, I will be relocating to a city with a strong local go club where most of the members are 6 kyu or higher; I'd like to reach around that strength before I go there:

Current level (May 10, 2012): 10-11 kyu KGS
Goal: stable 6-7 kyu KGS
Timeline: by September 2012 (about 3.5 months)

I use the word "stable" because, as Kageyama notes, amateur ranks fluctuate so intensely. Maybe when I'm clear-headed and feeling well, I'll play at an 8 kyu level or better; and then the other day I didn't even notice that a group of my stones had been put in atari. This fluctuation is interesting and teaches me a lot about go and myself, but as I make it to 6-7 kyu, I want to focus on pruning away these repeated mistakes and lending some stability to my strength.

Method:

My biggest mistake early on in learning go was thinking that simply by playing games and reading books like Kageyama, I would become stronger. I never considered doing go problems, tesuji, or anything like that. Since starting over in April, I have begun doing these problems and work in earnest. I've completed Graded Go volumes 1 and 2, and will now work on:

Tsumego/tesuji: Graded Go Problems, volume 3 (all problems) (421)
SmartGo Kifu problems, levels 10 kyu - 6 kyu (all) (several hundred)