It is currently Thu Apr 18, 2024 6:17 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: 6 stones in the next year
Post #1 Posted: Wed Dec 19, 2012 7:22 am 
Lives in gote

Liked others: 43
Was liked: 32
Universal go server handle: tygempanda
Since we are close to the new year I would like to make some good intends for the next year.

I have been playing for about one year, in this year I've gotten to about 9k kgs (EGF 11k) and have been stuck here for 5 months. The funny thing is that studying life and death shapes has not made me really a lot stronger. When I was 8k 5 months ago I started studying life and death and now I can read out a lot more corner situations etc which does come in handy. Howhever it did not make me even a stone stronger, wierd :-)

Where I want to be in one year:

- I want to reach EGF 5k which is gaining a stone every 2 months, so about kgs 2kyu. I think this will be a very tough goal to reach in a year but still doable nevertheless.

That obviously brings me to how I'm going to do that, and here is the plan:

GoChild :
- 500k points. Thats grinding about 1.4k points per day.
- Do the chinese go school problems up to about 1k frequently.

Tsumego:
- Graded go problems for beginners (2?) & 3 & 4
- Weiqi 1000 life and death. (chinese) => this one I really want to master.
- chinese tsumego => Volume 1: Introductory (rumenpian)
- chinese tsumego => Volume 2: Beginner (chujipian)
- chinese tsumego => Volume 3: Middle (zhongjipian) => this one seems a bit hard though.
- Essential life and death 1,2,3 (4 is too difficult for now)
- 501 tesuji
- Life and death 1001 (This needs to be really easy soon)
- Making good shape (rob van zijst)

If i have any time left:

- Get strong at tesuji
- Get strong at invading
- Get strong at attacking

Theory:
- Some book on creating and destroying frameworks or invading, not sure which one yet. (if you know a good one, let me know)
- Lessons in the fundamentals of go.
- Re-read attack and defence