It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 10:59 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Improvement from Turn based games
Post #1 Posted: Tue Aug 03, 2010 4:07 pm 
Lives in gote

Liked others: 85
Was liked: 85
GD Posts: 100
Hi, I'm pretty new to turn based Go and I was wondering if anyone with more experience could say whether turn based Go was a particularly good way to improve or not. On the plus side I've got time to read things through but on the negatives, well I guess it's just so slow (!) and that might have some sort of warping effect. I don't suppose it matters hugely because I enjoy it but I'm curious. I mean, if I stopped playing real-time Go for a year and just spent a hour or two every day thoughtfully playing games on DGS or OGS would I get better or worse?

Post subject: Re: Improvement from Turn based games
Post #2 Posted: Tue Aug 03, 2010 5:36 pm 
Oza

Liked others: 237
Was liked: 662
GD Posts: 4312
Online playing schedule: Every tenth February 29th from 20:00-20:01 (if time permits)
It is not a good way.

Post #3 Posted: Tue Aug 03, 2010 7:54 pm 
Gosei

Liked others: 53
Was liked: 171
GD Posts: 1104
KGS: fwiffo
It lets me get in more games than I would get to play otherwise, since I can squeeze in a move any time I have a free moment, so I guess it can't hurt.

Post #4 Posted: Tue Aug 03, 2010 9:19 pm 
Lives with ko

Liked others: 8
Was liked: 23
GD Posts: 163
KGS: GoCat
DrStraw wrote:
It is not a good way.

Except for when it is a good way.

Post #5 Posted: Tue Aug 03, 2010 11:37 pm 
Dies in gote

Liked others: 70
Was liked: 29
GD Posts: 48
KGS: Darrell
CnP wrote:
I was wondering if anyone with more experience could say whether turn based Go was a particularly good way to improve or not.

I did this. I did not play on KGS for 8 months and only played on OGS. I did this because it was recommended to me to play slow games and I get too many interuptions to sit down much for real-time games.