It is currently Thu Apr 18, 2024 4:54 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Hi, I'm a Badger
Post #1 Posted: Thu Mar 29, 2018 1:48 pm 
Beginner

Liked others: 2
Was liked: 3
KGS: badger1243
Online playing schedule: KGS most days between 6pm and midnight EST.
My name is Jeffrey Kinderman. I'm a resident of Carbondale, Pennsylvania which is located in the north eastern part of the state very close to Scranton and I also go by the alias on KGS, badger1243. I've been playing Go since about 9th or 10th grade in High School when my math teacher introduced the game to us in a Strategy Club. Unfortunately I was the only one of my class mates to really take interest in the game, let alone continue to play and learn it. It wasn't long before I even surpassed my math teacher, being the only other person in the entire area of my knowledge who plays, but to be fair he was also never very serious about the game and only really studied life and death which was the only edge he ever had over me xd. Eventually I learned about online go servers such as KGS and Dragon Go Server, DGS being my primary one for quite a long time. I liked DGS because it was a simplistic correspondence based server that didn't require me to commit to hour long games like on KGS because I didn't have that kind of time and I didn't like playing blitz or fast speed games much either. I started studying under a SDK player on DGS for a lengthy period of time known as Fred Flemming, I believe, and we primarily played teaching games and studied theory and proverbs via email, all of which I still have saved and look over every once in a while as they were very helpful and very knowledgeable. This experience boosted my skill to about a 15kyu KGS level of play and from there, after graduation, I was able to commit more time to playing rated games on KGS where I was able to attain 10kyu. Since then however, I haven't played a lot due to a lot of irl concerns, I'm now 19 going on 20 and working a stabl