It is currently Sat Aug 19, 2017 5:16 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
Offline
 Post subject: Kaya.gs does not work in Internet Explorer 9
Post #1 Posted: Fri Dec 21, 2012 10:32 am 
Lives in gote

Posts: 604
Location: Séoul, Corée
Liked others: 88
Was liked: 363
Rank: Tygem 5 Dan
Yes. Why? Only me? Any fixes planned?

_________________
Amsterdam, soon.

Top
 Profile  
 
Offline
 Post subject: Re: Kaya.gs does not work in Internet Explorer 9
Post #2 Posted: Fri Dec 21, 2012 10:43 am 
Lives with ko

Posts: 294
Liked others: 25
Was liked: 78
Rank: 6d
KGS: Dexmorgan
Wbaduk: c0nanbatt
lovelove wrote:
Yes. Why? Only me? Any fixes planned?


There were a few quirks last time i checked, but it worked. Can you send us a screenshot of whatever symptom you had?
Its officially supported, but as we dont use it some bugs can creep up.

_________________
Founder of Kaya.gs

Top
 Profile  
 
Offline
 Post subject: Re: Kaya.gs does not work in Internet Explorer 9
Post #3 Posted: Fri Dec 21, 2012 2:50 pm 
Dies in gote

Posts: 48
Liked others: 4
Was liked: 26
Rank: KGS 4k EGF 8k
KGS: Nagilum
lovelove wrote:
Yes. Why? Only me? Any fixes planned?


This is nothing new to me. The last mounths kaya.gs was not working under IE9. :sad: I already reported this issue several times via the tweakie. But i have not reported this bug any longer because i havent seen any improvments.

A screenshot is not neccessary. I just cannot press any button in the UI, so i cannot start a game for example.


This post by Nagilum was liked by 2 people: cdybeijing, lovelove
Top
 Profile  
 
Offline
 Post subject: Re: Kaya.gs does not work in Internet Explorer 9
Post #4 Posted: Sat Dec 22, 2012 7:04 am 
Lives with ko

Posts: 294
Liked others: 25
Was liked: 78
Rank: 6d
KGS: Dexmorgan
Wbaduk: c0nanbatt
Nagilum wrote:
lovelove wrote:
Yes. Why? Only me? Any fixes planned?


This is nothing new to me. The last mounths kaya.gs was not working under IE9. :sad: I already reported this issue several times via the tweakie. But i have not reported this bug any longer because i havent seen any improvments.

A screenshot is not neccessary. I just cannot press any button in the UI, so i cannot start a game for example.


Are you Dexterward? because i only see 4 tweaks on IE9.
Im sure the ones you saw were functionally fixed if so. We were working with Windows last week and noticed a few bugs which we fixed, but we could open a sandbox and play.

If you have some patience, you can try joining the IRC channel of kaya, which is what we use when a user cannot chat on the server itself due to any type of issue.

Kaya.gs IRC Channel

_________________
Founder of Kaya.gs

Top
 Profile  
 
Offline
 Post subject: Re: Kaya.gs does not work in Internet Explorer 9
Post #5 Posted: Tue Mar 05, 2013 1:23 am 
Lives in gote
User avatar

Posts: 581
Location: Shanghai, China
Liked others: 96
Was liked: 100
Rank: IGS 2 dan
I've uploaded a screenshot from IE9. My issues are the same as those reported elsewhere in this thread.

Attachment:
File comment: IE9 screenshot
kaya screenshot.jpg
kaya screenshot.jpg [ 342.07 KiB | Viewed 2329 times ]

Top
 Profile  
 
Offline
 Post subject: Re: Kaya.gs does not work in Internet Explorer 9
Post #6 Posted: Tue Mar 05, 2013 1:50 am 
Oza
User avatar

Posts: 2359
Liked others: 1164
Was liked: 1051
What is this "Internet Explorer" of which you speak?

_________________
These moves are not part of a regular dan repertoire... - Knotwilg


This post by daal was liked by 3 people: Bonobo, ez4u, Joaz Banbeck
Top
 Profile  
 
Offline
 Post subject: Re: Kaya.gs does not work in Internet Explorer 9
Post #7 Posted: Tue Mar 05, 2013 3:15 am 
Gosei
User avatar

Posts: 1898
Location: Groningen, NL
Liked others: 189
Was liked: 1015
Rank: Dutch 4D
GD Posts: 645
Universal go server handle: herminator
daal wrote:
What is this "Internet Explorer" of which you speak?


A program provided by Microsoft with their Windows operating system, which enables the user to download a web browser. ;-)


This post by HermanHiddema was liked by 8 people: Bantari, Bonobo, daal, ez4u, golem7, Jayy, Joaz Banbeck, Phelan
Top
 Profile  
 
Offline
 Post subject: Re: Kaya.gs does not work in Internet Explorer 9
Post #8 Posted: Tue Mar 05, 2013 8:19 am 
Dies in gote
User avatar

Posts: 59
Location: Rochester Hills, MI
Liked others: 22
Was liked: 17
Rank: IGS 17k
Universal go server handle: csobod
HermanHiddema wrote:
daal wrote:
What is this "Internet Explorer" of which you speak?


A program provided by Microsoft with their Windows operating system, which enables the user to download a web browser. ;-)

I just use Ninite so I don't even have to open it.

_________________
Sincerely, Chad R. Sobodash

Top
 Profile  
 
Offline
 Post subject: Re: Kaya.gs does not work in Internet Explorer 9
Post #9 Posted: Tue Mar 05, 2013 10:48 am 
Lives with ko

Posts: 294
Liked others: 25
Was liked: 78
Rank: 6d
KGS: Dexmorgan
Wbaduk: c0nanbatt
cdybeijing wrote:
I've uploaded a screenshot from IE9. My issues are the same as those reported elsewhere in this thread.

Attachment:
kaya screenshot.jpg



Try clearing your browser Cache. Last time we tested IE9 a couple of weeks back, all was well so we can only guess there can be a local issue.

A user that was experimenting with IE9 issues upgraded to IE10 and reported the site was working fine. IF you can give me more details on your operating system, ill keep tabs on it when i get the chance to set up more OSs than Windows 7.

_________________
Founder of Kaya.gs

Top
 Profile  
 
Offline
 Post subject: Re: Kaya.gs does not work in Internet Explorer 9
Post #10 Posted: Tue Mar 05, 2013 12:54 pm 
Lives in gote
User avatar

Posts: 379
Liked others: 105
Was liked: 122
Kaya.gs wrote:
Try clearing your browser Cache. Last time we tested IE9 a couple of weeks back, all was well so we can only guess there can be a local issue.

A user that was experimenting with IE9 issues upgraded to IE10 and reported the site was working fine. IF you can give me more details on your operating system, ill keep tabs on it when i get the chance to set up more OSs than Windows 7.

This is what I get with IE9 - cache cleared, running Windows 7. And none of the buttons work for me either.

Attachment:
kaya.PNG
kaya.PNG [ 58.36 KiB | Viewed 2208 times ]

_________________
"This is a game that rewards patience and balance. You must think like a man of action and act like a man of thought."
-Jonas Skarssen

Top
 Profile  
 
Offline
 Post subject: Re: Kaya.gs does not work in Internet Explorer 9
Post #11 Posted: Tue Mar 12, 2013 2:43 pm 
Beginner
User avatar

Posts: 15
Liked others: 0
Was liked: 11
Rank: KGS 5 kyu
KGS: oiseaux
Kaya handle: oiseaux
The DOCTYPE of the document Kaya is serving up can force IE to render in compatibility / quirks mode. See here:

http://hsivonen.iki.fi/doctype/

Since Kaya appears to be using XHTML Strict, it is probably forcing IE9 into some godforsaken combination of modes. If you enabled F12 Developer Tools, you can change it back to IE 9 Standards in the options in the toolbar.

If Kaya was using the HTML5 DOCTYPE (that is, <!DOCTYPE html>), it would probably solve the issue, but I couldn't say what kind of work that would mean for the team. If you have the choice not to use IE9 however, save yourself the hassle. There are much better browsers out there, seriously.


This post by oiseaux was liked by: Bonobo
Top
 Profile  
 
Offline
 Post subject: Re: Kaya.gs does not work in Internet Explorer 9
Post #12 Posted: Tue Mar 12, 2013 4:59 pm 
Gosei
User avatar

Posts: 1999
Location: Germany
Liked others: 7216
Was liked: 809
Rank: OGS + EGF DDK
OGS: trohde

_________________
“Whenever you find yourself on the side of the majority, it is time to pause and reflect.” — Mark Twain ★ Come and play on OGS


This post by Bonobo was liked by: csobod
Top
 Profile  
 
Offline
 Post subject: Re: Kaya.gs does not work in Internet Explorer 9
Post #13 Posted: Mon Mar 25, 2013 4:48 pm 
Lives with ko

Posts: 294
Liked others: 25
Was liked: 78
Rank: 6d
KGS: Dexmorgan
Wbaduk: c0nanbatt
oiseaux wrote:
The DOCTYPE of the document Kaya is serving up can force IE to render in compatibility / quirks mode. See here:

http://hsivonen.iki.fi/doctype/

Since Kaya appears to be using XHTML Strict, it is probably forcing IE9 into some godforsaken combination of modes. If you enabled F12 Developer Tools, you can change it back to IE 9 Standards in the options in the toolbar.

If Kaya was using the HTML5 DOCTYPE (that is, <!DOCTYPE html>), it would probably solve the issue, but I couldn't say what kind of work that would mean for the team. If you have the choice not to use IE9 however, save yourself the hassle. There are much better browsers out there, seriously.



Nice tip, ill check it out. It still surprising to me that IE9 worked when i tested it. I keep putting this fix off, but have to get my hands on it.
I was told by Users IE10 is working well, so if IE is a must, upgrading to IE10 might be an even easier solution for the user right now.

I do intend to fix this, but not having an IE at hand makes it inconvenient.

_________________
Founder of Kaya.gs

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group