It is currently Tue Dec 18, 2018 6:30 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
Offline
 Post subject: WBaduk client problem
Post #1 Posted: Sat Sep 08, 2018 12:01 pm 
Beginner

Posts: 2
Liked others: 0
Was liked: 0
Hi everyone,
I downloaded WBaduk client today and registered on the site. However, when I try to log in I can see nothing - it shows me there are zero players and just blank windows overall. It's not internet or firewall problem. Everything else runs fine and I have even put the client as an excpetion (firewall) everywhere. When I try to rejoin it sais that my ID is not registered. Anyone else having this problem? Any solutions? Thanks

Top
 Profile  
 
Offline
 Post subject: Re: WBaduk client problem
Post #2 Posted: Sat Sep 08, 2018 7:23 pm 
Dies in gote

Posts: 53
Location: Boston
Liked others: 7
Was liked: 3
Rank: ddk
KGS: jgr314
I'm struggling at an even earlier stage: can't register on the site. I get a registration key code, but when I enter it, wbaduk just gives me a pop-up error that the code was invalid. I feel bad because I (inwardly, at least) was mocking my wife for not being able to figure out how to set up an account, but now I'm just as stuck.

Top
 Profile  
 
Offline
 Post subject: Re: WBaduk client problem
Post #3 Posted: Sun Sep 09, 2018 1:22 am 
Dies in gote
User avatar

Posts: 53
Location: Zürich, Switzerland
Liked others: 144
Was liked: 13
Rank: EGF 1 Dan
Universal go server handle: betterlife
Usually it helps if you simply reconnect to the sever once again: Top right "Server" -> choose a server -> click the button "Server:" then login in again.

Top
 Profile  
 
Offline
 Post subject: Re: WBaduk client problem
Post #4 Posted: Sun Sep 09, 2018 1:41 am 
Lives with ko

Posts: 186
Liked others: 42
Was liked: 22
Rank: SDK
I have this problem too, and like betterlife says, just reconnecting to the server solves the problem.

I have to ask, why do you particularly want to play on WBaduk? I occasionally watch pro games on there, but otherwise I don't find it such a great experience. Definitely seems to have many less players than either Tygem or Fox.

Top
 Profile  
 
Offline
 Post subject: Re: WBaduk client problem
Post #5 Posted: Sun Sep 09, 2018 2:27 am 
Beginner

Posts: 2
Liked others: 0
Was liked: 0
I don't necessarily want to play there often. I just wanted to play people with different play styles (for example heard that people on Tygem tend to be more aggressive) and also guessed that on WBaduk there would be a lot of people playing. Are there any other good servers where a lot of people play?
Also, thank you for answers, but choosing the server again doesn't work for me - when I do that I get the "your ID is not registered" again.

Top
 Profile  
 
Offline
 Post subject: Re: WBaduk client problem
Post #6 Posted: Mon Sep 17, 2018 10:26 am 
Oza
User avatar

Posts: 2775
Location: Seattle, WA
Liked others: 251
Was liked: 549
KGS: oren
Tygem: oren740, orenl
IGS: oren
Wbaduk: oren
wbaduk's english client and site is basically dead. You have to go through and get a Korean or Japanese account (or other?) if you really want to get on.

Top
 Profile  
 
Offline
 Post subject: Re: WBaduk client problem
Post #7 Posted: Mon Sep 24, 2018 1:50 pm 
Lives with ko
User avatar

Posts: 280
Location: Illinois
Liked others: 215
Was liked: 73
Rank: infant
oren wrote:
wbaduk's english client and site is basically dead. You have to go through and get a Korean or Japanese account (or other?) if you really want to get on.


You don't need a Korean or Japanese account, you just need to log onto the Asian servers rather than the World server.

Top
 Profile  
 
Offline
 Post subject: Re: WBaduk client problem
Post #8 Posted: Tue Sep 25, 2018 12:50 am 
Lives in gote

Posts: 418
Liked others: 75
Was liked: 57
Rank: EGF 4k
Yes, wbaduk's english client has a somewhat strange user interface. I would recommend the following:

On first startup after installation, a settings dialog pops up. I strongly recommend going into the "flash" section and checking every box. Checking a box means to turn the respective flash sequence off (that's what I mean with strange user interface...). If you don't turn off these flash sequences, you would probably experience crashes of the client e.g. during counting at the end of a game, which is especially annoying.

My "log-in sequence" on wbaduk goes as follows:

- Make sure username and password are typed in on first screen and the "save" button below is checked
- In the section below, select the "Korea 1" server (the "WBaduk 1" server is usually almost empty)
- Click 'login'
- Usually, on first login, the game window remains empty; thus click on "server" at the upper right border of the window and select "Korea 1" again
- You will get back to the initial login screen. Select "Korea 1" for the third time and press "login", this time it usually works.

I think wbaduk is especially good if you want to practice fighting. Especially in the DDK range some players are surprisingly strong at that (for whatever reason).

Top
 Profile  
 
Offline
 Post subject: Re: WBaduk client problem
Post #9 Posted: Tue Sep 25, 2018 9:10 am 
Oza
User avatar

Posts: 2775
Location: Seattle, WA
Liked others: 251
Was liked: 549
KGS: oren
Tygem: oren740, orenl
IGS: oren
Wbaduk: oren
Drew wrote:
oren wrote:
wbaduk's english client and site is basically dead. You have to go through and get a Korean or Japanese account (or other?) if you really want to get on.


You don't need a Korean or Japanese account, you just need to log onto the Asian servers rather than the World server.


Sorry, I read a while ago about the site being down before. It looks like it's working ok now. It's been a while since I checked it out.

Top
 Profile  
 
Offline
 Post subject: Re: WBaduk client problem
Post #10 Posted: Sat Sep 29, 2018 6:34 am 
Beginner
User avatar

Posts: 15
Liked others: 0
Was liked: 1
tobim wrote:
Hi everyone,
I downloaded WBaduk client today and registered on the site. However, when I try to log in I can see nothing - it shows me there are zero players and just blank windows overall. It's not internet or firewall problem. Everything else runs fine and I have even put the client as an excpetion (firewall) everywhere. When I try to rejoin it sais that my ID is not registered. Anyone else having this problem? Any solutions? Thanks


I have the exact same problem. I got past the registration part, but the first login gets a 0 player server. Any subsequent login attempts get a "not registered" message, which is 100% erroneous as I did indeed finalize registration.

Seems I may have to forget about this client.

_________________
That's the end of this chapter.

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group