It is currently Sat Sep 21, 2019 7:08 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
Offline
 Post subject: Resume playing?
Post #1 Posted: Sun Apr 07, 2019 10:03 am 
Lives in gote

Posts: 399
Liked others: 77
Was liked: 123
Rank: igs 4d
Both my opponent and I forgot to play a dame that would have forced him to connect. When entering the scoring phase the client counted one point for him there so I disagreed with the count (it was a close game so 1 point could be important). I tried to resume play but couldn't find how. Meanwhile, after maybe 20/30 seconds of me looking around, I was notified that I had lost the game. Apparently scoring was done without me agreeing to it and many dead stones were not marked as such.

So, is there a way to resume play on IGS after entering the scoring phase? And is there some unwritten rule that says you're awarded a loss if you don't accept scoring (it would be weird)?

Top
 Profile  
 
Offline
 Post subject: Re: Resume playing?
Post #2 Posted: Sun Apr 07, 2019 12:25 pm 
Honinbo

Posts: 8820
Liked others: 2602
Was liked: 3009
Shenoute wrote:
Both my opponent and I forgot to play a dame that would have forced him to connect.


If he had played there, he would not have been forced to connect? Or you would have captured some stones? (The latter, I guess. :))

Quote:
When entering the scoring phase the client counted one point for him there so I disagreed with the count (it was a close game so 1 point could be important). I tried to resume play but couldn't find how. Meanwhile, after maybe 20/30 seconds of me looking around, I was notified that I had lost the game. Apparently scoring was done without me agreeing to it and many dead stones were not marked as such.

So, is there a way to resume play on IGS after entering the scoring phase? And is there some unwritten rule that says you're awarded a loss if you don't accept scoring (it would be weird)?


I dunno about resuming play on IGS, but when the Japanese rules changed in 1989, with their weird seki rule, I just started filling all the dame at the end of the game. You can do so very quickly. :)

_________________
The Adkins Principle:

At some point, doesn't thinking have to go on?

— Winona Adkins

I think it's a great idea to talk during sex, as long as it's about snooker.

— Steve Davis

Top
 Profile  
 
Offline
 Post subject: Re: Resume playing?
Post #3 Posted: Sun Apr 07, 2019 12:56 pm 
Lives in gote

Posts: 399
Liked others: 77
Was liked: 123
Rank: igs 4d
Bill Spight wrote:
If he had played there, he would not have been forced to connect? Or you would have captured some stones? (The latter, I guess. :))
I don't know, I would probably have played elsewhere. Taking advantage of a mistake in a fight or because the opponent does not see (or doesn't want to believe there is) a weakness in his territory when filling the dame is one thing, capturing stones just because he puts himself in self atari during the dame is another. Same as I never push through bamboo joints or play atari during the dame if I can avoid it, I don't want my opponent to think I'm waiting for his mistake, nor do I want him to forget to play it.

Quote:
I dunno about resuming play on IGS, but when the Japanese rules changed in 1989, with their weird seki rule, I just started filling all the dame at the end of the game. You can do so very quickly. :)
I always do (IRL or online) but forgot for once :blackeye:


This post by Shenoute was liked by: Bill Spight
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group